White

Dunblane Cathedral

Dunblane cathedral in the snow

As the snow falls outside the window, cloaking the ground and hiding those things in the garden I should have tidied up ready for winter, my thoughts turn to the colour white. Artists know that white is the colour applied to a canvas before the coloured paints – it is the absence of colour. On the other hand, from an optical perspective white light is the complete – the mixing of all the colours of the rainbow. A rainbow or any light spectrum is the splitting of white light into its component parts.

Whiteness seems to have these two opposites – it is the colour of bleached bones, of whitened sepulchers but then again the colour of purity, the whiteness of a dove’s breast and the whiteness of a lamb.

The whiteness of winter also seems to have these these polar opposites – the cold stillness of the winter landscape, seemingly devoid of life, but holding within it that promise of the spring to come. When I look outside the window peeking under the snow are the tops of the crocus shoots and do I also see the first signs of the snowdrops?

This entry was posted in reflections by nickmoz. Bookmark the permalink.

About nickmoz

An enthusiast to my core! I have diverse interests - I am an Explorer Scout Leader, a rock climber (far less talented as I get older), genealogist and avid reader. I sing and laugh too loudly. I love my wife and three grown up sons - they are all far more talented than me!

2 thoughts on “White

Leave a Reply

