Silence

‘Once I can speak again I will sing, I will praise God.’ 

Zechariah paced the dirt till he had trampled it into a solid block outside the door.

‘What joy it will be to have a second chance.’

The young daughter of the midwife rushed in with yet more water.

‘I have always been a man of faith, but maybe, just maybe I could have been a bit more faithful, a bit more trusting.’

A chilled wind blew round the house and made Zechariah pull his robe tighter around him.

‘No maybe about it, in future I will believe that with God all things are possible.’

A baby’s first cry reached Zechariah’s ears and a tear ran down his cheek.

‘Soon,’ he thought; ‘ soon, I can sing my song.  My life will never be the same more than one new life begins today.  God is good.’

This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , by Kirstin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kirstin

I have been working in the Scottish Episcopal Church since aged 13 when I used to type up the hand written minutes of the Church we worshipped at. Having always had a vocation - yes the story about me burying a toy rabbit which had lost its ear are true - but never thought it would amount to anything because I happen to be female. Ever since I finally accepted that God was calling me despite the fact I was a woman. The Holy Spirit has spent half the time propping me up and the other half swiping the rug from under me so I don't get too comfortable.

One thought on “Silence

  1. Pingback: Maker of Dreams | love blooms bright

Leave a Reply

